The Glass Jar

To the light, I hold the glass jar
What’s inside, I am wondering
A child’s whisper
Says follow me
Give in to your wonder, and make believe
The pictures come so vividly
As it bends my vision
And colors dance
I think of you, with innocence
How I wish I could give you this
Your mind needs a place to rest
Compassionate and comforting glass
On my shelf, and I never noticed
All the things you could be
I took for granted, your emptiness
And always filled it
Flowers will never do you justice
I now see this
As I forgot you were simply glass
As the prisms of colors dance on my walls
I see the gift you gave me
Of memories
Leave a Reply

