Grandpa

Ice forms across the window, crawling up from the inside.
My hands tingle as I know what comes.
The air is still and heavy, the scent of old books fills my room.
It’s been a while since you’ve come, my arms are open.
This time you are quiet, and I go about my day.
So content and your eyes are smiling, I know you are happy.
I talk to you softly, but I sense you already know;
How life has it’s ways of going, the children growing;
Felix reminds me of you.
Just your presence keeps me going, that the bridge that binds us keeps holding strong.
I know you are close and will bring me home one day.
I still hear you laughing in the eyes of Marlene.
I still feel your strength in the heart of Lena.
Old photos cannot capture this the same.
I’m glad you came.
Give Grandma a hug from me.

Leave a Reply

