It Was Always Enough (Dear Mom And Dad)

Nov4rth2014 114

It was so cold outside, I remember.
Dad was late from work, in mid December.
You spent all afternoon making the soup,
My sister and I were off in our rooms.
You called us for dinner as Dad walked in,
I sat at the table, making ungrateful comments.
Complaining and whining, the meal was; “cheap”,
How could we be filled on broth and grilled cheese?
I got up and left, never touching my plate,
Had I turned back around, I would’ve seen you never ate.

Years have now passed and I’m now a Mother;
Spent nights up late working for the bread and the butter.
Tired some evenings, aching to the bone,
Creating a meal for the children… alone.
Adding a little of this, a pinch of that,
Pulling a feast from out of my hat.
Telling myself, this is healthy and filling;

Then the children won’t eat it, said it’s “gross” or unappealing.
I find myself thinking of that night long ago,
What I said to my parents, now said by my own.
A lesson that took years to come back around,
Made me pick up the phone and share what I found.

Dear Mom and Dad, as a child I did not see;
You filled my dish, as yours went empty.
You sacrificed,
With love and grace,
I need to tell you, before it’s too late.
I know what it’s like now, I’ve walked in your shoes,
I ask your forgiveness, now I know the truth.

Love,
A VERY grateful daughter.

One thought on “It Was Always Enough (Dear Mom And Dad)

  1. This was beautiful. I’m certain your parents are thankful for your gratefulness, and for now knowing the sacrifices we make as parents. All in time, we learn. Xo

Leave a Reply

